Crazy person: me. 3/2/16

I am a crazy person with a vivid imagination.

I have been preparing for a 6 week stay in Israel for a medical procedure for  over 9 months. I am going there for HSCT (Hematopioetic Stem Cell Transplant).Flights,apartment,car,organization at home  to pay my bills and taxes while gone.care for my dog are intricate parts of my planning.

I had to bank wire money a large sum of money to a bank in Tel Aviv with nothing in writing. I started to believe that I was being scammed .To think that the money I  wired to Israel for my HSCT treatment was secretly funding a terrorist organization.

How did I come to this conclusion?

I have been following a Facebook group for CTCI , a facility in Tel Aviv, that does Hematopioetic Stem Cell Transplant for MS. I was booked to go there since last March  but switched to a facility in Jerusalem because Jerusalem was partial inpatient. I felt safer in a hospital during the isolation part of the treatment.It turned out to be a great choice because the Israel Health Ministry stopped CTCI from doing this procedure until further investigation.I would be devastated if I was denied treatment.

My insecurity stemmed from the fact that  I had no one to follow . There wasn’t anyone in the group who had gone to this facility with this doctor.The file section of the  HSCT-Israel Facebook group has vast information. I am the only one that I know of going to Shaare Zedek with Prof. Rowe. I vetted it as best as I could.But my concerns began when I would send emails with very specific questions and they were ignored.I had to bank wire a huge sum of money to a bank in Tel Aviv. The name on the transfer was not the name of the medical center I was going to.I tried calling and it always went to a machine and no one ever called me back.

I only had email contact with a woman in Tel Aviv, the financial manager. I started to wonder if somehow a terrorist group has interfaced the web site and redirected me to them posing as the medical facility. I think I got this idea from watching shows like “Homeland.” And stories of people having their identities stolen or their ATM card being copied at the ATM machine at their own bank.

This has been going on for over a month.Recently, I got up at 4:30am to call the Hospital Jerusalem. There is a 7 hour time difference. Again it went to voice mail, I left a message but did not receive a call back. I even got the doctor’s beeper number and left a message,no reply. Now I was really starting to panic. How do I get on a plane to Israel with no confirmation. What if I get there and they never heard of me.

This morning at 6:00am I heard my husband on the phone, it was with the doctor. He finally got through. Big sigh of relief . Stress and anxiety are very bad for people with MS. Sleepness night are also detrimental.

Now it’s time to finalize some details such as what to pack,phone usage in Israel.plug adapters to charge our electronic equipment, etc.

Now I have the time to focus on the seriousness of this procedure, actually I am fully aware of the difficult road ahead of me and I am up for it.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Crazy person: me. 3/2/16

  1. Take some high protein content protein bars otherwise if you buy them there it’s hard to read the nutritional content since most of us aren’t fluent in hebrew. Bring some antibacterial wipes – like clorox wipes and make sure you have hand sanitizer. We had to take septol from the clinic douse paper towels with it to use it as clorox wipes. Zip lock bags are good to take also.

    Like

  2. You’re so brave and I have already done so much ! And still have tremendous to accomplish nevertheless it is going to bring you relief and healing ! Keep the faith ! I know that your relatives have. Cath V from France.

    Like

    1. There are several HSCT Facebook group that you can request to join. There is a wealth of information in the file sections. HSCT Israel, Russia, Mexico, for PPMS, and a general hematopoietic stem cell transplant.

      Like

Leave a Reply

