Warrior…update

 

March 5,2017

Well good news! I recently had a cold/cough and was able to fight it on my own without being hospitalized or needing intravenous antibiotics. Just a simple Z-pack for bronchitis and I am good as new. This means my immune system is starting to recover which is a very big deal!

I am having my blood checked weekly and the numbers have been good. My white blood cells and hemoglobin are within normal range and my platelets are close. I haven’t need a transfusion in over 6 weeks. My kidney function has remained stable.

The next step is I want to have the PICC line removed. The first thing that comes to mind is a long soak in the tub with soothing warm water, something I really miss.
PT/OT is coming along slowly but steady. I still have another 2 weeks of home PT covered by insurance and then I need to look into an outpatient rehab facility. I have to find a place that specializes in neurological disabilities, not a sports medicine oriented mentality. Multiple Sclerosis is a body/mind disconnect and you have to be very careful of the PT and make sure that they are trained in these conditions. You do not want to over fatigue the muscles, they will shut down. Baby steps.
The weather is finally getting nicer. I have been able to get outside more and I love the feeling of the sun beaming down on my face. Delicious!

For those of you new to my story, on 3/16/2016 we left for Israel. On 4/7/2016 I had my stem cells transplanted, 6 million of them! On 5/5/2016 I flew back to NYC and went straight to Columbia/Presbyterian and I was there until 8/31/16. There were three more stays at Columbia/Presbyterian during the next 4 months due to various infections which I couldn’t fight due to my weakened immune system. On 12/12/2016 I had the balance of my stem cells transplanted, 3 million in total, a “stem cell boost.” We had them flown over from Israel since my bone marrow wasn’t recovering. Thankfully the additional stem cells seem to have made the difference in my recovery.

I am still fighting to regain mobility and independence. I know I will get there. I am a warrior.

 

video of walking to follow as soon as I figure out how to post it.
On Tue, Feb 28, 2017 at 12:55 PM, Andrea <prism2468@aol.com> wrote:

One thought on “Warrior…update

  1. Almost ready for discharge. Cough finally giving up against antibiotics X several weeks. Can’t believe I am finally feeling somewhat like a human being lol. I hope you are gaining strength daily. What a bitch this recovery has been. I will keep you posted and look forward to hearing your progress. XOXOXO Paula

    Like

Leave a Reply

